DIY Ironing Table

I’m an avid crafter, DIYer, and quilter. I love making and creating things with my own two hands. I also love having the space for it! But Dale and I share our hobby room which means I only have so much space to create. I love having him in the room with me, but sometimes I need more space than the two tables I have (not to mention that one of these tables has my sewing machine on it). Throw in an ironing board and I’m just about out of room. So I decided that I wanted to do something about this. All along, I’ve always wanted one table for ironing, one table for cutting fabric/miscellaneous crafts, and one table for my sewing machine. But there’s no way we could ever fit all that into one room.

You may be thinking that, yes, of course, there is a way to make it all fit, but when working with a ton of yardage of fabric, you need tons a table space so it’s not falling off while you’re ironing it or trying to cut it to the perfect dimensions. My half of the room isn’t big enough for that.

So my way of solving this issue was to just cover my current ironing/cutting table to make it an ironing board that I can place my mat on to cut. It’s a two-in-one! AND it’s a rather simple task!

IMG_7932

All you need is:
– A table that you don’t mind converting- A cotton based batting that isn’t too thick and will cover the top of your table
– A duck or canvas fabric (think upholstery) that will cover the top of your table
– A heavy duty staple gun and its staples
– An iron
– A hammer (optional for setting the staples flush against the table)

IMG_7933

To begin, lay out your batting to where the edge of the batting overhangs one edge of the table. You want to fold this overhang under the lip of your table so that there’s only one fingers width under the lip. Begin by stapling this edge in place. Next, you will want to iron out the wrinkles if there are any. Use light pressure with the iron as batting can pull and rip. Now go to the side just right of the stapled side. You will want to cut your batting so the overhang matches the first edge. Staple that into place. Continue to all four sides, working around. Don’t worry about the corners just yet.

IMG_7936

The corners are tricky, but remember that this is just the batting. It doesn’t have to be pretty because your fabric will cover it. First, push one side of the excess batting under the corner:

IMG_7937

Then pull the excess batting on top of what you just folded under:

IMG_7938

Staple in place and repeat on all corners

IMG_7934

IMG_7935

See how my staples are sticking out? I just hammered those in.

Next, you’ll want to lay out your fabric and iron out all the wrinkles. You’re going to do the same thing you did with the batting, lining up one edge and stapling it. But I folded my first edge under, and ironed it, so the edges wouldn’t fray.

IMG_7939

Then I placed the folded edge under the lip of my table and made sure it lined up with the apron of my table (the part that the table top is sitting on). Begin stapling. Do not do the corners, but continue around like we did before with the batting. Remember to cut your fabric with a little bit of excess around the next three edges so you have enough to fold under. Also remember to smooth out the wrinkles on top of the table, so your fabric isn’t twisted or bubbled anywhere.

IMG_7942

Now to do the corners. This time it matters what they look like. They should begin to look something like this:

IMG_7943

Use your creativity and fold them up so they lay nice and neat. Cut them down if you need to, but remember to allow enough to fold under so you don’t have any raw edge showing. I’m pretty sure I did every corner differently, but this is the best looking one:

IMG_7946

Hammer in all your staples so they are flush. Now stand back and look at your new ironing table! YAY!

IMG_7947IMG_7949

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

