Quilting

My favorite hobby is quilting. I love working with beautiful fabric, creating gorgeous quilts with accurate points and wonderful quilting. To date, I’ve made over 20 quilts in my young life. I’ve even begun a quilting journal.

IMG_5305 IMG_5306

But today, I’m going to post about a quilt I made for my grandmother. She was the woman who taught 13-year-old me how to cut fabric and piece a quilt together. She had a ton of patience to work with perfectionist me (and still does). Over the years, I had made quilts for my mom and one for my dad and I realized that I hadn’t made one for her. I guess it never crossed my mind because she had a bajillion quilts scattered through her house, whereas my parents had only a few. I promise I’m not ungrateful. I love my grandmother very much. I am her first grandchild after all.

When choosing a quilt pattern for her, I wanted something I could quilt myself. Typically, I turn to my aunt for quilting, since she has a long arm quilter. I chose the beautiful Front Porch quilt kit designed by Jan Patek for Moda. I thought this quilt would be perfect for her! Here’s the finished quilt:

Grammy's Quilt

The pattern is free, so download it for yourself! You need:

  • Blocks: 8 charm packs (40 5″ squares) OR 15 light and 8 dark assorted fat quarters (18″x22″)
  • Binding: 5/8 yard
  • Backing: 5 1/2 yards
  • Cutting mat
  • Rotary cutter
  • Acrylic ruler
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Matching thread
  • Sewing machine, obvious

IMG_1845

First you want to lay out your blocks, as well as (by following the instructions) lay out the matching cut blocks that you have made. See the small squares on the darker squares? That’s how I matched them up.

IMG_1875

Above is after the first row was all matched (step 2 in the instructions). Some helpful tips. In step 2, it calls to “select the 2- 2 1/2″ dark squares that match the 5″ dark square. Layer the marked squares and a 5″ background square right sides together as shown. Sew on the diagonal line. Press to the corners to form a triangle.” Most quilters would say to cut away the excess. DO NOT. Even if you are a perfectionist, your square might not come out perfectly square, but when you leave the excess on the square, when you sew them all together, the squares will be perfect!

IMG_1922

As you can see above, step 2 has been completed. Time to start sewing the blocks together to create rows. Make sure to line the squares up perfectly so your rows come out straight. Then sew the rows together.

IMG_2095

Here’s your finished quilt top! Time for quilting! First you have to layer what I call the quilt sandwich, which includes, from top to bottom, the quilt top, a layer quilt spray adhesive, the batting (I prefer all natural cotton), another layer of quilt spray adhesive, then the backing, which you have to piece together, unless your quilt is smaller than 42″. Be sure to iron everything out, and keep little paws off your quilt (notice the one on the right side of the picture). I use huge safety pins to keep it all held together while I quilt it.

IMG_2108

Next, I roll the quilt up into a cylinder so it’s easier to quilt. Be careful on this part, as you want to make sure the fabric is all flat and there are no wrinkles.

IMG_2101

Above, you can see I decided to quilt the outline of the stars, but on the inside of them. See below for more.

                                                   IMG_2102 IMG_2100 IMG_2099

Now, they aren’t perfect, but they did the job! Once that’s done, all that’s left is cutting off the excess and putting the binding on.  I was planning on giving this quilt to my grandmother for Christmas, but I just couldn’t wait. I gave it to her the next time we saw each other (which was October). And she absolutely loved it! She cried tears of joy.

IMG_2110Grammy's Quilt Details Grammy's Quilt Details 2

Leave a Reply

